top of page
  • Writer's pictureSearching Scripture

Tim Keller: Buddha vs Jesus (Replies to me from other tweeters)

Updated: Feb 18, 2022

First, a tweeter replied to ask more about spiritual enslavement and respect for Buddhism.


Then several Protestants replied to clarify with me about Christian good works and salvation. Some outright rejected whatever I wrote.


Here's my twitter thread with the first individual.








All I did was explain Acts 17v22-34 and quote Gal 4v8 word for word.

God has spoken clearly in Scripture that other religions are different forms of spiritual enslavement. But God offers sinners the opportunity to repent and believe His Good News. So please believe it if you have not done so. There is a day when Jesus will judge the world, don't delay. Repent from your sins and believe the Good News before it is too late.


The problem is, Protestant teachers have distorted the Good News. What most of them proclaim is not the Good News of God found in the Scripture but the "Good News" of Martin Luther.


Several Protestants replied to clarify with me about Christian good works and salvation. Some outright rejected whatever I wrote. Please open the Scriptures and test what I say. Test what my critics say against the Scripture. See who is speaking the truth.







I politely invited Jeffrey to correct me on Eph 2v1-10. He never replied. Clearly he thinks that simply labelling what I wrote as the "Roman Catholic view of infused righteousness" is a powerful argument. He seemingly does not think he needs to prove his point from Scripture. So I had nothing to test against Scripture.


More encouraged by Andrew.

The deleted tweet was originally by a man who wanted to clarify what I meant. I cannot remember what he asked already. I replied him, he liked my replies, but strangely deleted his tweet containing the question.

Then this man called Greg Rogers followed up with a string of tweets rejecting what I said. Please test what he says against the Scriptures too.


Here is the link to the video on Eph 2v8-9 mentioned above: https://youtu.be/Vofm7BYrzRs


Not sure why he quoted 1 Pet 1v3. As if I said anything that contradicted 1 Pet 1v3.


But he quoted 2 Pet 1v3-4. I gave him more than he asked for and tweeted on 2 Pet 1v3-7, 10-11. So check whether I've summarized 2 Pet 1v3-4, 5-7, 10-11 faithfully.

2 Pet 1v3-11:

3 His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence, 4 by which he has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.


5 For this very reason, make every effort to supplement your faith with virtue, and virtue with knowledge,6 and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with steadfastness, and steadfastness with godliness,7 and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love.


8 For if these qualities are yours and are increasing, they keep you from being ineffective or unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.9 For whoever lacks these qualities is so nearsighted that he is blind, having forgotten that he was cleansed from his former sins.


I didn't summarize v8-9 in my tweet. But if I had, I would have said this...

"Christians" who don't have Faith + Good Works are:

- Ineffective, unfruitful in knowing Jesus. It was useless for them to know Jesus.

- They're still spiritually blind. They had their former sins cleansed but clearly still like sinning.


10 Therefore, brothers, be all the more diligent to confirm your calling and election, for if you practice these qualities you will never fall.11 For in this way there will be richly provided for you an entrance into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.


If you have Faith + Good Works done through God's power = Confirmed that you are one of God's elect chosen people who will never fall into condemnation (v10) and so you will enter the Kingdom of Jesus (v11).


If you do not have Faith + Good Works done through God's power = Not confirmed that you are one of God's elect chosen people, not confirmed that you will never fall into condemnation, and so why do you think you will enter the Kingdom of Jesus?




Here are my videos on Eph 1-2v10:


Here is the link to the video on Eph 2v8-9 mentioned above: https://youtu.be/Vofm7BYrzRs

It is polemical. Sarcastic. Meant for the hardcore liar and intentional twister of Scripture. If you are not a hardcore liar who twists the Scripture, do not feel offended. It was not aimed at you. But if twisting the Scriptures is something you don't mind doing, then take offence. It is aimed at you.


Please take the time to watch them and test and see if what I say is faithful to Scripture or not. Then you will see that the typical Protestant interpretation of Eph 2v8-9 is false.









65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tim Keller: Buddha versus Jesus

Buddha's Final Words versus Jesus' Final Words. What follows is a popular false implication for the way Christians live. The next day: I...

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page